Navigating Design Studio

Before you start creating your content, learn what the menu items and tools are used for.

Screenshot showing the location of UI items in the Design studio interface

1. Design/Localization selection

Here you can toggle between Design, which is your overall layout, and Localization, which lets you customize your template or design to your different marketing groups.

2. Autosave

As long as your internet connection is stable, any changes you make to your design will be automatically saved.

3. Undo and Redo

Click the left-pointing arrow to undo, and the right-pointing error to redo recent changes to your design.

4. Desktop and mobile view

Switch between views to see what your design will look like in desktop vs. mobile view. We recommend you to always design in the mobile view, as most customers open marketing sendouts on their smartphones. In addition, the design is easier to translate from mobile view to desktop than vice versa. Read more about mobile and desktop styling here

5. Preview

Select this to view dynamic content like contact fields or products. Use the settings cog to select a contact or segment for the preview. Read more about dynamic and personalized content

6. Preview as a contact or segment

Preview the design as a specific contact (see 5. Preview). Once you have selected to preview with data, you will select a contact or segment here.

7. Send test message

Click here to send a test message to up to 20 recipients.

8. Publish

Click here to publish your design. The most recently published version will be sent out when scheduled. This means that if you edit an active design, the last published version will continue to be sent until you publish your new changes. Read more about publishing your email (if you are making an email design). 

9. Close Design Studio

Click here to close the design studio and return to the page you entered from. You do not need to save your changes before exiting, as they are autosaved (see 2. Autosave), unless you want to publish your design (see 8. Publish).

10. Sender details and subject line

Sender details can be found under the overview tab (11) and in the canvas.

11. Design overview

Once you start adding content, all elements and modules will show up here in list form for easy navigation. 

12. Custom fonts

In this section you can add custom fonts. Read more about using fonts

13. Add new (module or elements)

Click on the plus sign to add your modules and elements. Read more about working with modules and working with elements.

14. Canvas

This is your working area, which you will drag and drop your modules and elements onto to create your design and click to edit elements.

15. Share preview link

This allows you to preview the message or share to a team member outside Engage. Read more share preview links.

Was this article helpful?

/